The First Essay

High Tide in Tucson is quickly becoming one of my favourite books.  If I could learn to live with humor in my life the way Kingsolver does, I might survive a bit better.

“I find that millions of years of evolution have prepared me for one thing only: to follow internal rhythms.  To walk upgright, to protect my loved ones, to cooperate with my family group–however broadly I care to define in–to do whatever will help us thrive.” (p. 8)  And yet, “our culture attaches almost unequivocal shame to our animal nature.” (p. 9) We must trust our instincts, and yet we discredit our connection to the earthly rhythms around us.

“Possibly we will have the sense to begin a new century by renewing our membership in the Animal Kingdom.” (p. 10) Have we?  She wrote this over 20 years ago, as as that’s been the vast majority of my life, I am sitting here wondering if we have done this at all.
Needs,  from one day to the next, are few enough to fit in a bucket, with room enough left to rattle like brittlebush in a dry wind.” (p. 11) This resonates with me so much; I’ve had to leave my home, leave my possessions, leave my life as I had it planned, just to ensure I would live another day.  As long as there is room enough in my bucket for my baby, I’ll be okay.  Wait, don’t put the baby in the bucket.  Do I want or need my child?  I love him with all my heart, he is the human I birthed into this world and he is precious.  Could I survive without him?  Practically speaking, yes.  And probably a bit easier too.

“It’s completely usual for me to get up in the morning, take a look around, and laugh out loud.” (p. 14) I think many people could stand to benefit from making this a conscious practice each morning.  Wake up and laugh at the absurd complexities that allow our lives to be just as they are.  It’s incredible.

About rawselflovemama

I started this blog more than 4 years ago and a lot has changed. The only thing that hasn't changed is I'm still refusing to settle for anything less than total self love from myself. I'm exploring healthy eating, mostly, as I have identified a food and sugar addiction that I need to really evaluate and work to separate myself from. Food does not define me. How I treat myself does! I'm in my early 30's, I live in an almost-rural part of Southern Oregon where I seek to continually learn how to be the best me, and how to express all the love I have to share with the world. Eventually I'll be living with my son and my partner on his family's organic farm about 30 miles from here. For now, I live the suburban life, escaping to the countryside as often as I can. Welcome to my blog, please leave me a comment and let me know what you think!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment